A Cistercian monastery was founded at Margam by Robert Lonsul, Earl of Gloucester in 1147. Which became the richest monastic house in Wales. The present church incorporates part of the abbeys format nave.
Visitors have access to the church during the summer months. The church
contains the recently restored Mansels tombs of the Mansel Family. There
is also access via Tombs the church to the Margam stones museum which
contains a fine collection of early christian crosses.
Early Christian sculptured and inscribed stones, dating from the 6th Century, can be seen right across Wales, from Pembrokeshire in the far south west to Sbowdonia in the north. At Margam, visitors can see an outstanding collection from this one corner of the south wales landscape, all gathered under one roof.
Housed in a charming little building which formerly served as a school house, the collection includes examples of Christian memorials from the sub Roman era right through to the hugely impressive cart wheel crosses of the late 10th and 11th Centuries.